Help Center

Deleting Transactions: Troubleshooting

When the delete (trash can) icon is missing beside a client ledger transaction, this usually indicates something downstream depends on it or the period it belongs to is closed. This applies to payments, invoices, payables, time and fees, expenses, and adjustments.

The following can help you review and determine how you can proceed:

 

Payments

  • Is there a deposit slip for the payment? If a deposit slip has been created, the slip must be deleted before the payment can be deleted.
  • Drill down on the payment. Are other files listed against it? They have had those expenses billed out already and you cannot delete the payment without deleting those invoices.

 

All Transaction Types

Dependencies on the client ledger

  • Has a later invoice been raised after the transaction?  An invoice can’t be deleted until any invoices after it have been deleted first.
  • Has a payment been made against the invoice?  The payment must be deleted before the invoice can be deleted.
  • Is the file sitting in Review Charges?  The invoice in Review Charges must be undone before an invoice prior to it can be deleted.
  • Is the file sitting in Release Invoice?  The invoice in Release Invoice must be undone before an invoice prior to it can be deleted.

Closed periods

Check the transaction date against each of the following:

  • Is the bank reconciliation closed for that date? Check both trust and operating. Reopen if necessary.
  • Canada only - Is the GST period closed? We do not recommend reopening a closed period unless absolutely necessary.
  • Canada only - Is the PST period closed? We do not recommend reopening a closed period unless absolutely necessary.
  • Canada only - For Alberta firms, is trust safety closed or is there a preview period listed? You can delete a preview period and that will allow you to delete an item. We do not recommend opening a closed period.
  • Is the fiscal year closed? You can reopen a closed period to make necessary changes, remember to reclose when you are done.

Accounting entries restriction

  1. In Legal Accounting, go to Admin > Firm > Settings tab. 
  2. Click Features on the Settings ribbon.
  3. Confirm Accounting entries allowed on or after is not set to a date after the transaction.

Note: This date is updated automatically when the general ledger period is closed. It can also be set manually.

The best option is to reopen any closed periods necessary by deleting them, making any changes, then reclosing the periods. 

Updated