A file may be placed on hold by a user to have it excluded from billing runs until the hold is released. The user may also place a file on hold to prevent fee earners from adding time or expense records to it. In both cases, this is putting a file on hold manually. If a file is not appearing in a bill run as expected, or giving you a message that you should not be placing time or expenses in it, the hold status is the first thing to check.
This article explains where the hold status is set and how to change it.
Before you begin:
- You need edit access to the file's billing settings.
To do this task:
- Navigate to the Contacts menu and then the File Manager tab.
- Open the file in question.
- Expand the Billing Settings section. The hold status is shown in the middle-right of the screen.
- Change the status as required. This is done manually by the user. The user can either select to put the file on hold (On hold manual) or remove it from the hold (New entries allowed). The last option (On hold pending retainer threshold) cannot be manually selected and is controlled by the Bill Group.
- Click Save.
Updated